I have been fighting some sort of cold or flu or I don't know what for about a week now..maybe two. I thought I was winning for the most part but I've had a terrible lack of appetite, tired and generally feeling run down. Some of that has to do with a previous post I made because it is just kind of heart breaking but there is definitely some virus or something trying to make a home in my body right now. Past two mornings I've woken up covered in sweat and am having major issues focusing. Yesterday I didn't blog because I fell asleep at around 8. I keep on having toast for two meals a day because I don't have much of an appetite which is great for my waistline but probably not so great for everything else. 

I was so sick when I got up this morning that I didn't even think I could make it through the weekend let alone a day. I did make it through and I'm blogging like a good girl but I can only image how awful I'm going to feel tomorrow. Everyone reading this cross your fingers that I'm going to feel better.

Today I had an audition for a company that I think would be great to work with. It is a production that not only pays but would give me credit towards being in Equity which would be super awesome. I was so weak this afternoon though that I thought I was going to fall on my face when I walked in the room because standing seemed to be difficult because I was just so out of it. I made buddies with the moderator, made it very clear I wasn't feeling well in case his opinion mattered in anyway and went into the room and did my best. In a kind of interesting mess up I was given the wrong sides. I did really not very good at the side I prepared and kicked ass at the one that was handed to me minutes before going in to the room. I also was required to sing some opera a capella which sounded fucking fantastic in that tiny ass room and I think I detected a look of joyful shock. Even though I felt crappy the audition went really well. I'm not sure I have ever felt that welcomed and had them look so intensely at me. Intense in a good way though, as if they were carefully evaluating me instead of what has become the norm of just... oh god... another person.. scribble, scribble, judge, move on. I have no idea if this is something I will get a call back on but I feel good for going out and auditioning for new people. 

Going along with being sick I was really sad that tonight was the night that Hans and I had tickets for "How To Train Your Dragon" at the Honda Center. I was scared I wasn't going to make it through or I was just going to be flat out miserable. I managed to pull myself together and we had a good time. We also went with JJ and Annette whom I am incredibly fond of. The Living Social deal that we all purchased was also a great deal. Not only did we get the tickets for a good price but we got a voucher for a soda, a light up medallion and a souvenier mug. We ended up checking to see how much the mug was at one of the kiosks and it was $15.00 so it was a pretty damn good deal. The seats were a little high up but I can't possibly see how that was actually bad. We had a great time. The show itself was a tad slow simply because it is difficult to work around moving giant dragons on and off stage so sometimes there were filler dialogue and action that was a little boring. Those dragons are pretty fucking cool though. Plus there are a lot of other technical elements that are well executed. There was on part that was very much like a human being in a video game world. I thought it was completely unnecessary but it was a way to show off some cool graphics. I think it is worth a look just to see the dragons. 

The arena did allow you to take photos of the show but mine didn't turn out to great... but it is photo a day.. here are the ones I took:



photo a day #19

Picture
This is how the area looked when we walked in

photo a day #19.2

Picture
The lights went down about half way and then we had to wait at least another 10 to 15 minutes for the show to start

photo a day #19.3

Picture
This is the light up medallion and my absolute favorite photo I took.

photo a day #19.4

Picture
This was our souvenir mug. It was way better than the shitty plastic we all expected, but it was seriously sharp in some areas. This was Hans demonstrating how the wings could stab you in the eyes if you weren't careful. Perfect thing to give to a child right???
All in all the day went well. Plus Scout is back home. Things are complete. Now I'm going to jump into bed and hopefully have a wonderfully restful sleep. I just want to wake up tomorrow and feel better so I can nail my Neverwhere audition. Actually the audition can go crappy if that means I am suddenly in super good health. I think I would make that trade. 
C.M. Gonzalez
1/20/2013 12:15:33 am

Yay, Dragons!

Boo, sick!

Get out of there, flu!

Reply



Leave a Reply.