English is a complicated language. Even people born and raised in America don't know what is correct half the time when it comes to spelling, speech, grammar, syntax and whatever else.

I, just like most people fall prey to misspellings and run on sentences. In fact, I typically love run on sentences when expressing emotions and the more ellipses in a sentence the better for me. It's just how I write. It's not correct, but it is me.

In an online world where it is more important to be up to date... or rather the first to say something, it's hard to get it right.

This drives some people crazy and others it just passively annoys. If someone misspells the word illiterate (** cough** westboro baptist church **cough**) then I'm going to be pretty peeved (or some other major word), but if your iPhone auto corrects the to they.. or some other misspelling, or random word.. I'm going to accept it as big hands on a tiny keyboard and move past it.

I would love to get it right every time. Every sentence to be eloquently phrased without the use of spell check and the like, but it is not going to happen. I could have been an English major, I could have had a deep and powerful connection with literature and the English language but I was not an English major (ok, I kind of was for a semester but that is not what is important here). I love language but I'm not engrossed in every rule there is. Should I be? yes, I probably should.. but I don't think I was raised to be perfect. I was raised to write an essay and think about how and why things relate, sure grammar and syntax were graded but the main point was to think.

I respect a person who uses their brain to form theories and can stand up for themselves. I do not need a person to use the biggest words or tell me they went to an ivy league school. I'm glad you got that education and it works for you but if you can use tiny words to say big things, then congrats to you.

For those of you who do have all of the rules in your head... you are fucking amazing. No, joke... I think you are awesome and I'm glad someone has it, but don't make others feel bad, that seems to happen a lot. People are scared to write because they don't want to seem dumb. They might be, but a lot of people aren't and just don't want you to poke fun at them. Let's all calm down.



Leave a Reply.