I went to the gym! I've had a gym membership since July and I have only been a handful of times because ..well..I'm an idiot. I got so caught up in shows and just being plain tired from work that I just didn't have the strength to go and sometimes when I really truly wanted to go it was just so crazy late in the day that I guess I worried a little bit about my safety. You can definitely tell that it is the New Year though. I walked into the gym and it was absolutely packed. I managed to find the one non-broken, not in use cardio machine and I'm really glad I did. I honestly think people were avoiding it because the machine gets non-stop air conditioning blowing on it in full force, which to me was a life saver. I have a number of physical problems including knees that constantly hurt. It is super painful to run so I can't just go outside and run around, I have to use some sort of elliptical style machine that has a more fluid motion. I suppose what I need to use isn't important, but what is important is that I ran fro 41 minutes. This is a huge accomplishment for me. Even when I was working out with a trainer he wouldn't make me run for more than 10 minutes. I have never ever run for more than 15 minutes and that was pushing it. I've almost always stuck to a bike if I wanted any long amount of cardio. I guess this seems silly but I am amazingly proud of myself. I suppose I would have been more proud if I also did a really kick ass work out after that but the place was so full that I couldn't find an empty machine and I'm always terrified that I am using free weights wrong. Shhh... Megan don't talk about that other part, continue to be super excited that you accomplished something you never have until now. YAY!!!


 I have more to say about health and fitness but I can't get over not knowing what that loud Boom was in North Hollywood a little while ago. No one seems to know what it was but many people heard it and felt it. (internal edit, was still writing this blog when this was posted to my facebook page where I questioned what the noise was... still no answer but at least LA times did a write up http://latimesblogs.latimes.com/lanow/2013/01/north-hollywood-explosion-sonic-boom-mystery.html)  this is driving me crazy....especially because I still hear helicopters. What I should do is stop worrying about it, everyone is fine let's move on to photo of the day!

photo a day #8

My family has a habit of saving christmas paper and boxes. During this past christmas I heard one of my family members say "I've seen the same box for 10 years" which is actually an accurate statement. Hans and I have been having a family christmas whether we are with his family, my family, or apart and then we open presents together at home. Even though I'm at home and don't have to save any paper, boxes or bags I still have the urge to. Hans tries to stop me but he only half succeeds. He'll see the same polar bear bag next year.. But this year I was more willing to throw away in an effort to cut down on the stuff I have but I couldn't resist this one box top which has been sitting on the floor for quite some time. I insisted on keeping it because I wanted to cut out the adorable penguin on it. Well tonight, tonight I decided I'm throwing it away. There is no need to keep it. Instead.. photos!!


Picture
Look how cute this penguin is just holding a decorated tree
Picture
I see you!!!
I don't know what it is about penguins that I love so much but I do. I've never used this word but seriously.... Squee!!!

Lemon
1/9/2013 01:50:58 pm

I was a couple of days behind, so I played catch up and, damn, you're having a good week!
Way to go!

Reply



Leave a Reply.