I am currently sitting back stage at Sacred Fools Theater and we are in the middle of Round Two of The Serial Killers Playoffs (or night three for those who are wondering). We are hearing the guffaws of an enthusiastic audience member over a distorted monitor and I'm surrounded by a grown man in a diaper, a man dressed as a Nazi with Hitler wandering around somewhere in the theater, a man in some sort of magical green costume, a 1950's house wife, a cowgirl, and earlier there were topless girls and musicians around. This place is magical and I can't get enough of it. 

We come in weekly and smear our funny on the stage and leave a myriad of emotions floating in the air. We excel at comedy but we can bring heart when the timing is right.

I'm a company member here so I'm slightly biased but our oversold evening of wacky groundbreaking new shows going head to head in a fight to be the best tells me that the LA Theater community must also agree, otherwise we would have an empty house. If I'm not mistaken we had about 20 or more people who had to be turned away because we just couldn't accommodate them.

I didn't have time to finish the blog on my ipad as I sat backstage so I'm taking up finishing this on a Sunday afternoon. I am reflecting on the events of last night. It was a fierce competition and I am delighted I was a part of it. I'm slightly saddened by the fact that the piece I performed in did not make it to next weeks round of playoffs but I know there were so many good shows last night that it was hard to choose who to "kill" 

Sunday is the day where I sleep in, exhausted from staying at the theater until a minimum of 2am discussing the pieces that performed, listening to music, catching up with friends and watching people leave everything on the dance floor aka the stage they most likely just performed on. It's a home, a community and most of all a safe place to explore your skills. I love my theater and they love me. 

There are hundreds of wonderful things that I could say about the place, as well as a few not so flattering ones.. but even with the flaws that the theater has, just like all of us as individuals do, I still think we are doing something great. I hope that if you've never been to our little theater that you will one day. You'll love it, I promise. 





Leave a Reply.